Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Des nouvelles du comptoir
Archives
16 janvier 2014

Miam - Yummy

cakeshed

creamtea

sandwich

warmsandwich

stickytoffee

empty

S'il y a bien une chose dont je n'arrive pas à me lasser lors de nos pauses Anglaises c'est manger... Il ne passe pas un jour sans un "afternoon tea" et je préfère sauter le déjeuner que le thé... Je suis amusé par la manière dont Wesley s'est familiarisé avec les personnes su Swan Cottage et dont il demande en arrivant:"Serait-il possible d'avoir un sandwich au concombre, s'il vous plait?" qui ne figure pas sur la carte et qu'il dévore ensuite en un rien de temps... Ce que je mange aussi systématiquement c'est un Sticky Toffee pudding. C'est du lourd, en général on en commande un pour deux pour être à peu près sûr d'arriver au bout... Mais qu'est-ce que c'est bon. Servi toujours bien chaud avec sa crèm Amglaise tiède, je me régale à chaque fois. A ma grand surprise, ce gâteau est fait avec des dattes! Je vous met ici le lien vers la recette de Nigella et ici vers celle de Delia. Si je l'avais su avant de goûter, j'aurais hésité voire, renoncé, ce qui aurait vraiment été dommage... Ce que je retiens de cela: garder un esprit ouvert surtout pour les découvertes culinaires.

If there is one thing that I cannot get tired of while visiting England is eating... There is no one day without an afternoon tea and I'd rather skip lunch than tea... I am amused by how Wesley got familiar with the people at the Swan cottage and how he asks when he arrives:"is it possible to have a cucumber sandwich, please?"which is not on the menu and that he just eat up in no time... What I also eat systematically is a Sticky Toffee pudding. It is rather heavy and we usually get one for two in order to make sure we can finish it all... But how delicious. Always served hot with warm custard cream, I feast myself every single time. To my surprise the cake is made with dates! I share here with you Nigella's as well as Delia's recipes. If I knew about the dates before hand, I really think I would have hesitate to try, and probably I would have not tried it. It would have been a pitty... Bottom line, I should always stay open especially to discover new food.

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
M
Vivement ma prochaine virée chez les Britons ! J'ai faim ;-)
C
sticky toffee pudding is really one of the best desserts ever!!! next time you come you should buy some cartmel brand stuff - they sell in certain good supermarkets - check out a waitrose. it is so good. the benchmark for you to change around and suit your taste.
D
I love sticky toffee pudding! I wish I wasn't on my gluten free diet, that is one of many things I can no longer enjoy. <br /> <br /> We'll be in England in July and I wonder if I will be tempted every day by delicious English goodies that I can't eat... I think it will be a challenge!
Des nouvelles du comptoir
Publicité
Newsletter
Publicité